For Beginners: Useful C++ Code to extract/read the values in a CELL RANGE(e.g: A1:A5) - for Excel Add-Ins

May 3, 2014 at 12:03 PM
Edited May 3, 2014 at 12:15 PM
Hi folks,
I'm new to Excel API development but am learning quickly!
Just thought I'd post this bit of code - which I know will help many newbies like myself - trying to receive data/strings from Excel API, and find (to my amusement) that it returns funny-looking strings! (They are I believe are Pascal-style strings, which begin with the LENGTH field as the fist byte).

------------ This code is my personal work and not released in any guaranteed form-
It's aim is to give you a quick way(without having to scour the internet and Excel APi documentation) to :
1) extract data from cells, and,
2) convert Pascal-styled NON null-terminating strings
3) and have them all neatly placed in a std::vector- ready for play!

Works like a charm for me, but not to much error checking included yet. So use your own discretion! :)
//----------------------------------------------------------------------
/* This function  extracts the meaingful part of a Pascal-style STRING value that is being returned by Excel API.
   The first BYTE stores the total characters in the string; then follows those characters(actual string), 
   followed by what seems like Excel garbage! 

*/
int  ExcelStr2CStr(const LPSTR  lpInStr, char* pcOutStr, const int cnOutBufLen )
{
    const int cnLen = lpInStr[0]; // get the length sotred in the first byte..(a Pascal-style String?)
    memset(pcOutStr, cnOutBufLen, '\0');
    int i=0;

for ( i=1; i <= cnLen ; i++) // extract c-string out of Pascal-style String..
    {
        pcOutStr[i-1] = lpInStr[i];
    }
// null-terminate string to make it cmopatible with all string processing functions/requirements
    pcOutStr[i-1] ='\0'; 
    return i-1; // since we started counting at index 1, and not 0.
}

//----------------------------------------------------------------------